CMMC Consultants

Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification Consulting Services

quality assurance

The Department of Defense (DoD) has introduced the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) as its latest verification mechanism. This certification marks the DoD’s inaugural endeavor to establish precise cybersecurity requisites for its contractors. The overarching objective of the CMMC is to ensure the adoption of an adequate level of cybersecurity throughout the defense industrial base (DIB) supply chain, comprising over 300,000 companies, each entrusted with safeguarding unclassified information (CUI) under the CMMC guidelines.

The US Department of Defense (DoD) acknowledges the pivotal role of information security within the Defense Industrial Base (DIB) supply chain. Consequently, the DoD is dedicated to formulating and mandating a unified cybersecurity standard that delineates essential security practices and controls within the framework of the DoD Acquisition process, commencing in late 2021. Implementing the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) standard aims to enhance security measures to counteract malicious cyber activities and safeguard against the compromise of Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI).

CMMC is set to establish five distinct levels of cybersecurity readiness, which will be mandated for all US Department of Defense (DoD) contracts involving the Defense Industrial Base (DIB) supply chain. The anticipated impact will extend to over 300,000 DIB contractors throughout a five-plus-year implementation phase, with the majority requiring certification ranging from Level 1 to Level 3. These standards will empower DIB contractors to adopt robust cybersecurity protocols, ensuring their effectiveness and dependability. Additionally, these standards will define Relying Party (RP) and Recovery Point Objective (RPO) parameters to outline approved information safety procedures.

Levels of CMMC Standard


CMMC encompasses a range of levels, each progressively emphasizing practices related to managing Federal Contract Information (FCI) and Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI). The selection of these levels is guided by the sensitivity of the information requiring protection and the spectrum of potential threats. These processes and practices align with established cybersecurity standards and frameworks, including ISO 27001, ensuring a comprehensive and adaptable approach to information security.

The CMMC standards encompass five primary levels, each tailored to address specific cybersecurity needs, ensuring that the necessary measures are implemented for each unique scenario. These levels are outlined below:

Need More Information About Us?

Call us at (877) 772-9004 or contact us by clicking the button.

Our Clients